X-Ray Telescopes

The telescopes for Suzaku, also formerly known as Astro-E2, are the same as for the original Astro-E: they consist of 4 thin-foil mirror systems, to be used on 4 seperate charge-coupled devices (CCD), and one system with a slightly shorter focal length, to be used on the high resolution spectrometer. The latter, unfortunately, was not used in the mission due to a failure of the spectrometer cooling system. The telescopes utilize grazing incidence foil optics in conical approximation to focus X-rays. The design of the telescopes is the same as for Astro-E and is similar to that of the ASCA (Advanced Satellite for Cosmology and Astrophysics) telescopes.

A picture of an XRT quadrant

Mirror Lab Home ] [ Suzaku Mirror ] [ Suzaku ] [ X-Ray Astrophysics ] [ Astrophysics Science Division ]

NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration